top of page
Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

i'm really here


After two flights filled with interesting and inspiring people and conversations, I navigated through the tiny airport to its one baggage claim. As luck would have it, my two jam-packed bags were the very first ones out. Out of the corner of my eye, I saw as some people watched me heave my backpack and duffel off the conveyor belt to their positions along with my carry on backpack and camera case, but I wasn't worried about the onlookers. I could only be filled with anticipation and excitement for the coming hours.

Just as I was setting my bags down to give my back a break, a large white van pulled up, and I knew this was my ride. A cheerful face welcomed me and helped me to load up, and I saw looks of incredulity on Asian faces from the back of the van as they saw my many belongings pile up. Nope, still choosing not to be self-conscious...

When I got to climbing in the van myself, I was immediately greeted by a hand holding out a peanut butter cup. I began to learn that this hand belonged to an eager, kind soul who was a bright and welcoming friend from the start. She was one of five Taiwanese student who I started getting to know on that car ride, all of whom live in the same community housing as me now. I was beginning to meet my fellow employees, with whom I will spend the next three months.

Our shuttle driver took us to Walmart to stock up on food and other items, where I did my own grocery shopping for the first time. As I nervously walked through the aisles, it was hard to contain the feeling of overflowing that kept welling up. We then took off for Crater Lake National Park itself. The moment had come!!

Since arriving in Crater Lake, I have: attended orientation; settled into my dorm, where I live with three other girls; had my first day of work as a dock hand; begun to make lots of friends; explored my incredible new home in every way I can; asked LOTS of questions; and finally (this morning), put on the first worship service of the summer!

Of course, there is so much more to share about this experience--what led me to it, why I'm here, what it's been like since I arrived, and so much more. More will come...and soon, with any luck! Much love to all who are reading, and thank you so much for joining me in this journey.

Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page